The Engineering That Go's Into A High Heel Shoe.

Eager2heel

As a design engineer I always look at what go's into making stuff. I can just imagine all the things that must be checked to design a high heel shoe. Just the fact that it does not slip off when walking must have been a lot of work. Then making the sole of the shoe strong so it does not twist. And the heel has to be just in the right place to make the shoe wearable. I am sure there are lots of other things that must be finished. And I do not think comfort was high on the list for any shoe designer.

I suspect it's as much an art as it is a science ;)

I agree wholeheartedly with that statement!

I don't want to LOOK like a woman, I just want to DRESS like a woman!

There have been so many really gorgeous high heeled footwear styles that are only memories in some minds as individuals happen to see them on display. When was a teenager, my dad had some time to take a paid vacation from work and he chose to visit some relatives in another state. While we were there an occasion arose to venture into an established shoe shop where many heels were on display. I was particular fascinated over a pair of classic styled black patent pumps that had an interesting toe box treatment. They were pointed closed toes with 6 pleated folds (3 on each side of the toe box) radiating over the sides from the throat of the vamp cut. The craftsmanship and quality of these classic heels were "to die for" and if there had been a way for me to bring them back with me, I'd probably have them today. However, I was a long way from home, I had no funds, and my parents were totally against any of my high heel desires, so all I have are the memories of these gorgeous spike pumps. I have combed many of the appropriate magazines and other shoe fashion books from back then to some how find a picture and some information about them, but to no avail.